mn GB



The Great Tumen Initiative (GTI) is a development programme of the Tumen River Area which is an intergovernmental cooperation mechanism among four countries named People’ Republic of China, Mongolia, Republic of Korea and Russian Federation and it is supported by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

In 1995, the governments of GTI member countries signed agreements to establish intergovernmental cooperation mechanism with the aim of strengthening economic and technical cooperation, specifically focusing on the priority areas of transport, trade and investment, tourism and environment.

There are several Committees of the GTI that are focusing on different priority areas. One of the Committees is Trade Facilitation Committee (TFC) which was created in Changchung, China on 2 September 2017 and the TFC has established the Authorized Economic Operator (AEO) working group in order to implement AEO program among GTI member states.

The working group is established with the aim of implementing AEO effectively among the GTI 4 member countries from 2016 to 2017 and drafting “Arrangement among Customs Administrations of the GTI member states regarding mutual recognition of AEO program”.

The 3rd working group meeting of AEO was successfully held in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia from 20 to 22 September, 2017. The meeting was attended by the officer of GTI, respective officials headed by Director of Duetsche Gesellschaft fur Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), WCO expert in the area of AEO Expert who is officer of Canadian Border Services Agency and delegates of Customs Administration of China, Russian Federation and Republic of Korea.

As a result of the meeting, the “Arrangement among Customs Administrations of the GTI member states regarding mutual recognition of AEO program” is drafted and expected be signed in December 2017.